top of page

Jumping Into Weird Literature

Updated: Dec 3, 2021

Over the past few months, my roommate and I have been on a mission to find strange, but good, books to expand our reading with. After watching quite a few youtube videos and

conversing with many friends, I have found two books that I highly recommend all of you check out.

First on our list will be Mona Awad's Bunny. When first picking up this book, I was highly sceptical as to where the plot was going and how the audience was even going to connect with our overly pessimistic main character. However, as the story moves on with interesting, gorey, and beautiful imagery. I became more and more attached to the writing style Awad uses. It is wonderfully weird and unique. Surprising you at every turn, with exploding bunnies and boys, drugs, surrealism, and mean girls all in one.

I finished this book within a day or two, and i can say with confidence if you are looking to jump out of your comfort zone by miles....this is the place to go.


The second book I have to talk about today is a collection of short stories. I am an avid novel reader, so I was pleasantly surprised when this book grabbed my attention. Ottessa Moshfegh's Homesick For Another World brought my idea of what short stories were to a

different level. They're filled with unlikeable characters, gross descriptions, and random plots. However, they are equal parts beautifully written, maintain the reader's attention, funny, and admirable.

Moshfegh maintains such a unique writing style and voice for each character. Bringing about surprising plot lines and characters that we could believe are real despite their outrageousness. It teaches the reader so much about people, as well as how far out imagination is willing to go in order to ground itself in reality.


Lastly, the uniqueness of each of the book covers. One of the things that attracted me to each book was the cover, and how I hadn't spotted anything like it before in a bookstore or online. If you are looking to find books to expand your ideas of literature and people, I recommend that you leap right in with these two amazingly odd books.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2021 by Zoe's Literature & More Corner. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page