top of page

Crazy Movie Night Ratings and Notes (Fall 2021)

Rating Scale: 1-7

  1. The Wall (1977)

Zoe: This being the movie that started our little tradition, I have to give it the respect it deserves. It includes great music and cool animation, despite its confusing storyline. This being based off of one of my favorite albums I will have to give this a 5/7.


Laani: I agree with the sentimental aspect of this movie. Great music. Great character voices. Weird ass, borderline scarring animation and cinematography. The Trial is and will always be the best song from this album. I would like to think that the overall experience of watching this movie would've been better laying on the cold, hard floor on a dreary winter night with mood lighting and incense flowing, high off our asses on LSD and full of red vines and popcorn. 5/7. Re-watch and analytical value are very high.


2. Wizards (1977)

Zoe: This movie was ass, 0/7. Do not recommend.


Laani: What did I even watch? 2/7 Just for some cool character concepts and the fact that I bought a shirt at a convention that had the red guy on his camel on it.


3. What We Do In The Shadows (2014)

Zoe: I will have to say, this is one of the better films we have watched for movie night. A perfect sense of humor and outrageousness mixes for a good 6/7.


Laani: This film is a classic. My first introduction to Taika Waititi at one (1) in the morning after swing dancing up a storm and writing musicals and short plays five some- odd years ago. It strikes like an indie film that actually did it right. If this film were a wine, I would call it a Merlot; dark but sweet and smooth. A true comfort movie. Very funny and definitely re-watchable. 7/7


4. Mars Attacks! (1996)

Zoe: This movie was a must add to the list, despite warnings from every older person in my life who had seen in. Simply for the comedy of it and star power, I'll give it a 3/7.


Laani: This movie was a major box office disaster, and I'm not ashamed to say that I still like it. It is a quintessential part of my weird childhood of very weird movies with a lot of star power and very little context as a whole. 4/7. As a wine, it strikes me as a makeshift cocktail with a dry, fruity cabernet with all of the wrong notes. You would really like to like it, but it simply doesn't hit.

5. Annette(2021)

Zoe: Look, I love Adam Driver, but this movie was wild as hell. The concept could have been fleshed out quite a bit more. I need to have more of Anne's mindset during Henry's decent into madness. So much more could have been made of the turmoil of the situation. However, I did find great amusement in Henry calling the conductor exclusively that. We never learn this man's name. It makes me laugh. I'll give it a 2/7. I really really wish they would have let Adam sing in his actual range.


Laani: This movie was... A whirlwind... It was nuts. Above all else, I hated the way they made Adam sing. It was clearly not in a comfortable range for him, and that is a vital mistake whenever you are score-writing for a particular piece. Regardless of if Adam is a qualified singer or not, I should not have been able to tell that he was applying technique to a wholly difficult part of his voice. It should've just been bad singing in a comfortable range for his voice. It literally plagued me for the entire movie. Otherwise, this movie was weird as fuck and barely offered any context to remedy this. Why! Did! I! Watch! Adam! Driver! Eat! A! Woman! Out! While! Singing! A! Terrible! Song! In! A! Terrible! Part! Of! His! Voice!? Watching Howard Wolowitz get absolutely bodied by Kylo Ren was a definite highlight. The puppet was creepy as hell, but I grew to love Annette at the end. There was a moment where we became buddies. She kept it real with Adam's character, and even though I was confused as fuck I still liked the way they concluded it (in that regard). OH! "All the Girls" and "You Used To Laugh" are hard, total bops and don't question me. 3.5/7 As a wine, this thing would be a really confusing novelty wine with so many weird little notes that you enjoy sussing out, but overall, just... Why the fuck would anybody make this and why are so many celebrities endorsing it?


6. JoJo Rabbit (2019)

Zoe: I had been wanting to see the movie for a very long time, and I even enjoyed it more than I thought I would. More emotional than expected and better than expected. 6.5/7.


Laani: Another Taika Waititi GEM. This movie is weird and fucked up, but it's historical. It's classic Waititi slapstick. It's got a cohesive story and a lot of cool concepts. Half of the time, you forget that it's supposed to be a comedy, and the other half, a heartwarming historical drama, but you're never disappointed. 6/7 I'd sip this like a nice, mulled wine- sometimes it's just a little too sweet or strong, but on the right occasions, there's nothing like it.


7. Clockwork Orange (1971)

Zoe: Traumatizing. But still slightly amusing at times, 4/7.


Laani: Oh yeah. Traumatizing as hell. There's just so much to take in here. It's just sort of weird and disagreeable just to be weird and disagreeable. Like wha- I- Uh... 2.2/7 This is... um... Idk this is like a box wine that you saw in the dumpster one time and wondered what it tasted like. Like how long has it been there? Why was it thrown out? Who would do this?


8. Little Monsters (2019)

Zoe: This was a fun little movie to watch, I enjoyed it a lot. Can't go wrong with Lupita. 6/7.


Laani: It's a fun little piece I stumbled onto by accident. I was not disappointed. It offers a morbid, visceral horror on a plate of refreshing sweetness. Zombies and kids! AH! Who knew? Dark humor and character death. Lupita Nyong'o!!! 6/7 This would be a nice dirty mar with a pretty, sweet sangria and garlic stuffed olives.


9. Watchmen (2009)

Zoe: This was an interesting watch, a bit of the character development was off, but otherwise enjoyable. 5/7.


Laani: I remember watching this movie for the first time in my dad's car on those screens that hooked up to the DVD player and sat on the back of the headrests. Top notch technology then. All the rage. Anyway, this movie is nostalgic for me in that regard. It also brings about conversations regarding a lot of things people criticize Marvel for, such as unrealistic logic and ignorance of death counts. It's the perfect movie to show the dichotomy between DC and the MCU. It's beautifully fantastical with a cast of spectacularly unique and interesting characters, all while staying gritty and real and forthcoming about the issues having superheroes would present in a world much like the one we live in. Dr. Manhattan, specifically; 10/10 would watch him build a colony on Mars again. This movie also has one of THE BEST soundtracks. It's literally where I got half of my music tastes from. 6.4/7 It's giving me a dark, smoky red with a velvety finish and notes of spice. It only lost a point because it's literally THREE (3) HOURS LONG WHAT


10. Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975)

Zoe: A cult classic, gotta give it a 5/7. Was thoroughly entertained.


Laani: A CLASSIC. This movie still makes no goddamn sense, but it was revolutionary and it's groovy as hell. I still can't look at Tim Curry's face without thinking of him in a clown costume, so that's a little bit of a wrench in the old sweet tooth, however, on the whole, you gotta give this thing its dues. 6/7 A fruity sangria with a big lime garnish for a little bit of a kick.


11. Vampire Hunter D (1985)

Zoe: Too many large foreheads, what was that about? Also talking hand. 4/7.


Laani: This movie... I have very little to say, mostly because there was very little to analyze or to think about or to argue with. There was a vampire hunter, and that vampire hunter is actually this weirdly powerful vampire with a sentient, talking hand. But before that, there's this weird lady and her little brother who is coveted by this fiscally or just familially(?) powerful vampire for some reason- the lady, not the brother. And then they beat him and Vampire Hunter D just kinda... rides off into the sunset? Yeah. That's it. That's the whole thing. Basically, it technically has a story, and it technically is a movie. 3/7 I agree with Zoe. Much too many-a big ass forehead. This movie is a cheap sparkling white wine that's gone flat from sitting out all night.


12. Last Night in Soho (2021)

Zoe: First one we actually went to see in theatres. One of the best psychological thrillers I have seen in years. 7/7.


Laani: I really liked this one. I was literally only propelled to the theatre by the presence of Matt Smith. I have never seen him play a villain, and it was... It certainly was. This movie presented such an interesting concept and executed it so well. There were a few plot holes, but there were also way more moments when Zoe and I thought we'd figured it out and then we both turned to each other in a stupor, whisper-screaming about how they'd subverted expectations. This thing was a party with lots of cowboys (that's right; an 11th Doctor reference) and I enjoyed every minute of it. 6.3/7 THE BLOB MEN WERE SO FREAKY !!! And such a cool concept! This movie was a murky, bright, and distinctive Night Terror cocktail- look it up. They're beauties. But they're certainly not for everyone.


13. Eraserhead (1977)

Zoe: I have to admit, I was the one that insisted on watching this film. Not a single person was able to explain to me what this shit was about, so I was simply too intrigued to let up. Much to Laani's chagrin, I succeeded in my battle to watch this movie. I regret that greatly. First, Henry sucks, and why does he walk like that?? You are a grown man, stop acting shy. His Wife was a bit dramatic about the whole thing, I mean, a baby crying is annoying, but maybe if you picked it up off the damn table then that wouldn't happen. Also, how did Henry pull the next-door neighbor? Cheating on your annoying wife makes me hate you even more. I will have to say, the baby grew on me. Which is something I did not expect, but I support those who laugh at Henry. Also, I really was not loving the puffy-cheeked lady. No matter what the hell her significance was supposed to be. Gross. Full Regrets, and screw you Henry for killing the baby. 1/7. (Only because of the comedy of it all).


Laani: What. The. Hell. Did. I. Just. Watch. What was that. Eraserhead, on the whole, seems like it should mean something. It seems like you should walk away with this big, grand epiphany about the woes of the fear of fatherhood, but it just... It fails to deliver in so many ways. Yes, it's a cult classic. Yes, it has weird, grotesque themes and imagery. Yes, there is technically a plot. No, it is not profound. No, it is not about an "eraserhead". No, you can not ingest this movie all at once. It's actually on the warning label. "Do not watch this whole movie all the way through unless you have 1-3 friends present and you're all too busy talking shit about it to actually think about what in the name of indie films just happened." This movie is a bad cocktail that someone made you at a frat party. You can taste the intention, but who knows what the hell alcohol is in it, where they got it from, or why they chose those specific flavors that burn the roof of your mouth and give you indigestion. 1.2/7 It only gets a point because they tried and they technically succeeded in making a movie and it's fun to talk about like it's not in the room. Also the baby. WHAT. THE. FUCK.


14. Warm Bodies (2013)

Zoe: This movie is devoid of all logic, but you still gotta like at least a little bit of the 2010's corniness. I usually would doc points for narration, but R just groaning throughout the movie would have been a little unacceptable. It provides just enough humor and romance for you to forgive the lack of logic. Although, he did eat your dead boyfriend's brains and hasn't brushed his teeth. Girl- why would you kiss him? 4/7.


Laani: A true gem. A romantic, fluffy, nonsensical dumpster brew with a little bit of a philosophical and logistical twist added for flavor. This movie doesn't make any gd sense, the acting is abysmal, and the writing is clunky, but it is a comfort movie that transcends the realm of logic and bad writing- of which there is a lot. So many cute scenes and vaguely inspirational messages of equality and empathy. 5.1/7 He's not smart, but at least he's pretty. I'd rate this movie a nice smooth pink moscato with like ice or something. I don't put ice in my wine, so I only feel like this would water the drink down the way the random flaws of this movie watered down the plot and overall mouthfeel.


15: Edward Scissorhands (1990)

Zoe: Gotta love this movie. I agree with Laani, creepy middle-aged women really put a damper on the mood. Although I can't really get behind the romance, especially on Winona Ryder's end, I find the relationship to be cute. It brings just enough nostalgia to be passable, and you gotta love Johnny Depp's performance. 6/7


Laani: Edward. Freaking. Scissorhands. If I had a blade surgically attached to my hands for every time the women in this movie were super creepy, I would be him. I would be him but better. 5.7/7 This is an indie film masterpiece- at least that's what it feels like. The characters, in true Tim Burton form, are all so cartoonish and they all fit into these very specific archetypes that make you feel so weird, but in a deliciously morbid way. There were so many plot holes and places where the acting just didn't cut it- see what I did there? But it gets points for nostalgia and overall imagery. I love the idea and the concept and the atmosphere. The score is... Just... Danny Elfman is an insatiable beast whose music is delicious and distinctive in so many ways. I so greatly appreciate his partnership with Tim Burton. You cannot even imagine one without the other, they blend and complement so good. So, in the spirit of this dynamic collaboration, I would rate this movie a rich, steamy dark hot chocolate spiked with Apothic Dark red wine and smoothened out with a drizzle of cream. Just decadent and rich, but not without its faults, and definitely more of a seasonal favorite than an all-year-round one.


16:Galaxy Quest (1999)

Zoe: Unlike Laan, this movie does not possess any sentimental value for me. I love Alan Rickman (because who doesn't) but the idea that any of these people would not kill Tim Allen's character on sight bothers me. This man was nothing but ego and continues to be nothing but ego throughout the movie. I don't feel as though he deserved to be forgiven for faking being a real pilot. He put all these alien's lives in danger to have "fun" playing out his glory days at higher steaks. It had a good amount of funny moments, but I simply cannot approve of this plot. 2/7.


Laani: I was told I fell asleep four (4) separate times. I love this movie, though. This is one of those cherished movies I remember staying up to watch late at night when the old stuff nobody wanted to watch anymore ran and imagining myself in this scenario as the movie played out. Unfortunately, I am much older now, and this movie doesn't make any gd sense. I mean, it's got all the good stuff, right? You've got Tim Allen (It was a good thing back then, okay.), you've got Missi Pyle, Alan Rickman, Daryl Mitchell, etc. etc. Literally Rainn Wilson. You've got aliens and regular folks getting into some extra sick extra-terrestrial shit and coming out victorious! But as with all movies of these very specific, awesome sounding combos, this movie is the worst! Why would these people, who don't like each other, and didn't even like the show they were on be able to band together with a group of far unreliable aliens to work out how to defeat a literal star trek dictator-tyrant villain? Why would they do it anyway? How did they win that? How did Tim Allen not get blown the fuck up when they transported him through that beam-up device? 3.5/7 For the sentimental value. This movie is a cold sake with a weird mint garnish. Promising, but underwhelming and mostly frustrating.


17: Cloud Atlas(2012)


Zoe: Gross. Simply gross. I have no words for the prosthetics they used in this movie to make WHITE actors ASIAN. Then to have them act next to literal Asian actors. There was quite literally no reason to do this. I understand the idea of reincarnation and different universes, however, literally just have an Asian actor do it and give your audience other hints that it is the same person. Creepy and offensive as hell. I very much was trying to follow the different connections in this movie, with some of the characters simply being evil in every universe and such. As well as the others being against huge forces of evil etc, etc... but this was not executed well. Also, Tom Hanks as that writer......also racially motivated. .5/7 watching this movie was like eating soggy bread.


Laani: Two words. Yellow. Face. What in the world did they think they were doing in the early 2000's to mid 2010's? From Eddie Murphy's "transracial" bits to Ice Cube's failed TV series "Black. White.", people were going crazy with racial impersonation, and to what end? Within the context of this movie, specifically, I'm pretty sure this was just done so that we, as the audience, could tell which character had been reincarnated as whom but WHY??? In this manner? The movie, itself, makes not a lick of sense. I don't know what the plot is, and I could not tell you what the heck weird themes they were trying to impart. 1.7/7 They get points put back on because of the cool uber-condensed language thing they do with the future people and their distinctive dystopian culture. And the fact that I could not clock Zhou Xun as that man that opened the door for 3 seconds at some point in the movie. This was the only cross-anything transformation makeup that went well. This movie is a Molotov cocktail from a bottle of a sweet chardonnay with a bunch of notes of everything in it. The fire's not very strong, but at least it's got a billion different celebrities and good intentions.



18: Fantastic Planet (1973)


Zoe: I must say, I was rather confused by this. Although I don't quite understand what they were trying to get at with most of the film. Other than to not assume other species are inferior I suppose. I was impressed by a lot of the world building. I loved a lot of the art that went into the environment, as well as the cool concepts for the different creatures. I could go without the horrible close ups on the "Om's" faces though. That was a lot. This being our last movie of the semester, I will say that the conclusion I have gotten out of this experience, is simply concern for filmmakers in the 70s. 3/7.


Laani: Much like many of the movies on this list, the effect of this one would've been immensely more enjoyable while crossed on acid and absinthe, laying in a puddle of either muddy rainwater or unicorn mammoth piss. Unlike a lot of them, however, it gives me more of a final film school project feel- it feels so much like: "Hey, what if humans were the pets in this weird world and they were trying to rebel against their owners." "But animals don't just collectively rebel..." "Okay so maybe a long time ago, a bunch of aliens took them from earth, so they're still capable of intelligence beyond self-preservation, and they recognize that they're being wrongfully imprisoned?" "Okay, but how do the aliens reproduce?" "What?" "Trust me, it'll be important." Except all of that is in French, and it's an experimental adult animated science fiction film based on a book. It's actually weird as hell but tres entertaining and well thought out. Very elaborate. So much world building and just breath-taking French surrealism artwork conceptualized by Roland Topor. Well, that is to say that some of the scenes just made no sense to us. We found ourselves scratching our heads a lot, but I could also chalk that up to the fact that we watched the first part very late at night after a couple rowdy games of monopoly and the last day of finals earlier on. The following morning, I feel like we were able to look at it through a more analytical lens, though we did start playing a game of cards in the last 15 minutes, so there's no telling how much we were actually able to catch. Overall, 5/7. I'm impressed. And I would watch it again. This movie goes down like a cheap Maesil-ju enhanced with soy milk. I can't say much more. It's not like a favorite that you keep coming back to with every single meal, but there's something about the authentic indie feel of this thing that makes me love it.


Overall Scores:


Zoe: 1. Last Night In Soho (2021) 7/7

2. JoJo Rabbit (2019) 6.5/7

3. Edward Scissorhands (90), What We Do In The Shadows (2014), Little Monsters (2019) 6/7

4. The Wall (1977), Watchmen (2009), Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975) 5/7

5. Clockwork Orange (1971), Vampire Hunter D (1985), Warm Bodies (2013) 4/7

6. Mars Attacks (1996), Fantastic Planet (1973) 3/7

7. Galaxy Quest (1999), Annette (2021) 2/7

8. Eraserhead (1977), 1/7

9. Cloud Atlas (2012) .5/7

10. Wizards (1977) 0/7


Laani:1. What We Do In The Shadows (2014) 7/7

2. Watchmen (2009) 6.4/7

3. Last Night In Soho (2021) 6.3/7

4. Jojo Rabbit (2019), Little Monsters (2019), Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975) 6/7

5. Edward Scissorhands (1990) 5.7/7

6. Warm Bodies (2013) 5.1/7

7. The Wall (1977), Fantastic Planet (1973) 5/7

8. Mars Attacks (1996) 4/7

9. Galaxy Quest (1999), Annette (2021) 3.5/7

10. Vampire Hunter D (1985) 3/7

11. Clockwork Orange (1971) 2.2/7

12. Wizards (1977) 2/7

13. Cloud Atlas (2012) 1.7/7

14. Eraserhead (1977) 1.2/7



Picture : https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fposhmark.com%2Flisting%2FFantasy-Sci-Fi-Movie-Wizards-1977-T-Shirt-5bcd211a300be477c61915e7&psig=AOvVaw3vHTKH3eqoCjcCeeVau5lq&ust=1639891185099000&source=images&cd=vfe&ved=0CAsQjRxqFwoTCOCOnZDN7PQCFQAAAAAdAAAAABAE


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2021 by Zoe's Literature & More Corner. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page